• NHS111 banner Sept 2015
  • Play Your Care Right banner Solihull
  • solihull web banner
  • GP online

Solihull - Together for Better Lives Finalists Revealed

on .

Organisers today released details of the finalists in the Solihull Together for Better Lives Awards 2015. The inaugural awards attracted over 50 nominations from individuals and organisations across the borough.

Winners in each category will be revealed at the awards ceremony on Thursday 19 March, which will be held at the Renewal Conference Centre, Lode Lane. The winner of the Chairman’s Award will also be announced. This special award will be given to an individual or group who, in the opinion of the judging panel, has best demonstrated outstanding commitment to improving the lives of older people in Solihull.

The awards will be presented by the Mayor of Solihull, Cllr Mrs Kate Wild, and the ceremony will be hosted by Les Lawrence, Chairman, Heart of England NHS Foundation Trust Board of Directors. For more information visit www.solihulltogether.co.uk

Dr Patrick Brooke, Accountable Officer for Solihull Clinical Commissioning Group, said: “We’ve had a great response to the Solihull Together for Better Lives Awards in our first year. All the nominations, whether finalists or not, demonstrate the commitment and dedication of people who live and work in Solihull to make a difference to our older residents. There is so much to celebrate and I am looking forward to meeting our finalists and winners.”

Outstanding neighbour award

Outstanding Neighbour award to be presented at Solihull Together for Better Lives Awards Ceremony 

The category finalists were announced as follows:

Care Professional of the Year

  • Mandy Hannigan, Promoting Independence Coordinator, Supported Integrated Discharge Service
  • Peter Heald, Senior Physiotherapist, Supported Integrated Discharge Service
  • Anne Marie Yardley, Senior Care Service Manager, Family Care Trust

Health Professional of the Year

  • Chris Doolan, MR Pharmacy, Monkspath
  • Phillip Hall, Senior Nurse Dementia, Solihull Hospital
  • Minesh Parbat, Practice Support Pharmacist Lead, Solihull CCG

Care Team of the Year

  • Dementia Discharge to Assess Ward Team
  • Solihull Community Housing’s Safe & Sound Team
  • Solihull Council’s Brokerage Team
  • Swallows Meadow Court

Primary Care Service of the Year

  • Hampton Surgery
  • J&D Mason Opticians, Shelly Farm
  • Monkspath Surgery

Award for Dementia-friendly Service

  • Dementia Outreach Team, Solihull Hospital
  • Solihull Community Housing
  • Solihull Dementia Discharge to Assess Service
  • Solihull Council’s Arts and Libraries Service

Award for Collaborative Working

  • The Gadgets Team & Solihull Community Housing
  • Solihull Partnership Winter Warmth Campaign Project Team
  • Swallows Meadow Court

Award for Outstanding Project Delivered in the Community

  • Paul Murtagh, Walking Football Club
  • Olton Library – Craft, Chat, Knit and Natter Club
  • Thursday Club, Solihull

Award for an Outstanding Initiative in Supported Living

  • Solihull Community Housing’s Safe and Sound Team
  • The Team at Phoenix House Extra Care Service

Award for Outstanding Customer Experience

  • Sydney Ashby, Solihull Pensioners Association
  • George Fentham Trust Lunch Club, Hampton-in-Arden
  • Solihull Connect
  • Solihull Citizens Advice Bureau

Award for Outstanding Neighbour

  • Alan Jones
  • Andrew Orchard